Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, 2018-02-22

Aarhus Universitet, Denmark (AU)

Department of Chemistry and Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Centre (iNANO)


The University of Aarhus (http://www.au.dk) has in total 34000 students and ca. 7200 people employed as Academic staff. The Faculty of Science consists of 9 departments and 29 research centres and one of those is The Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Centre (iNANO). iNANO has 60 senior researchers, 45 post docs and 150 PhD students associated. An important research field is represented by The Centre for Energy Materials (CEM) which has the scientific core: design, preparation, characterisation and application of novel materials for energy production, energy conversion, energy storage and improved energy efficiency. Center for Materials Crystallography (CMC) is a new Centre of Excellence established in 2010, based on funding from The Danish National Research Foundation. The aim of the Center is to exploit the revolutionising opportunities provided by new X-ray and neutron sources to tackle important challenges in materials science. BOR4STORE is associated with CMC and CEM and iNANO, which offers a very strong research network and also a high quality graduate school, iNANOschool. iNANO has played an active part in a previous Danish national interdisciplinary project on the ‘hydrogen society’ and has >20 years of research experience within the interaction of hydrogen with metals.

Further information


Key personnel

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Torben Rene Jensen

Is an expert in synthetic materials and inorganic chemistry and characterisation of gas/solid reactions by in situ PXD. He received his PhD in 1999 at SDU, Odense. As a visiting scientist he was at various synchrotron radiation facilities, e.g. NSLS, Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA and Hasylab at DESY in Hamburg. Since 2000 he was Assistant Prof., since 2002 Associate Prof. at Aarhus Universitet and in 2006 appointed 'Scientific expert' for the IEA HIA, Task 22 (Hydrogen storage materials).

Among others he is Work package leader in the FP7 EU-funded project FlyHy, leader of the research program ‘novel gas storage materials’ in CEM and member of the Danish Hydrogen Association (DHA). He has authored >100 articles in international peer-reviewed journals. Assoc. Prof., Jens Erik Jørgensen is an expert in materials characterisation and diffraction. He organised the Danish Crystallography meeting in 2011 and will host EPDIC-14 in Aarhus 2014. Assoc. Prof., Jørgen Skibsted from the Danish Instrument Center for Solid State NMR Spectroscopy, University of Aarhus (AU) have a long track record within solid state MAS NMR and have authored ca. 100 scientific papers.

Experimental Facilities

AU has excellent access to the synchrotron facility MAX-lab in Lund Sweden, e.g. 20 days of beam time per year and 5-10 days at ESRF. Schlenck equipment, equipment for wet chemistry synthesis, autoclaves, ovens for heating in selected gas atmosphere, high frequency furnace for metal alloy synthesis, high energy ball mill, reactive milling, Sievert’s apparatus, thermal analysis (DSC, TGA/DTA), several powder and single crystal X-ray diffractometers, equipment implemented at the synchrotron facility MAX-lab, several NMR spectrometers dedicated for solid state MAS NMR, also at variable temperatures (in collaboration with Assoc. Prof. J. Skibsted).

Selected publications

  • Screening of Metal Borohydrides by Mechanochemistry and Diffraction, Dorthe B. Ravnsbæk, Lise H. Sørensen, Yaroslav Filinchuk,* Flemming Besenbacher, Torben R. Jensen*, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2012, 51, 3582–3586
  • Tailoring properties of borohydrides for hydrogen storage: A review, Line H. Rude, Thomas K. Nielsen, Dorthe B. Ravnsbæk, Morten B. Ley, Bo Richter, Lene M. Arnbjerg, Ulrike Bösenberg, Martin Dornheim, Yaroslav Filinchuk, Flemming Besenbacher, Torben R. Jensen *, Physica Status Solidi, A 2011, 208(8) 1754–1773. (Invited review).
  • Y. Filinchuk, B. Richter, T. R. Jensen, V. Dmitriev, D. Chernyshov, H. Hagemann, Porous and Dense Metal Boron hydride Frameworks, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2011, 50, 11162–11166, VIP paper
  • T. K. Nielsen, M. Polanski, D. Zasada, P.Javadian, F. Besenbacher, J. Bystrzycki, J. Skibsted, T. R. Jensen, Improved Hydrogen Storage Kinetics of Nanoconfined NaAlH4 Catalyzed with TiCl3 Nanoparticles, ACSnano, 2011, 5 (5), 4056–4064.
  • T. K. Nielsen, F. Besenbacher, T. R. Jensen. Nanoconfined hydrides for energy storage, Nanoscale, 2011, 3, 2086-2098 Invited review.
  • Powder diffraction methods for studies of borohydride-based energy storage materials, D. B. Ravnsbæk, R. Černý, Y. Filinchuk, T. R. Jensen, Z. Kristallographie, 2010, 225, 557–569. (invited review)
BOR4STORE related publications